EU Waiver - Silver Immigration

Canadians will need Visa Waiver for EU

At the moment, Canadians can travel freely without a visa to countries within the Schengen area for stays of up to 90 days.

Schengen area countries include Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

However, this will soon change with the implementation of the European Travel Information and Authorization System (ETIAS).

As of January 2021, Canadians will need to fill out an online application to enter the Schengen area. The EU claims that this new system will help security threats. Applicants will be required to fill out an online application, specifying which country they will be entering, and pay a filing fee. The information submitted will then be crosschecked against multiple European databases, such as Interpol and Europol. A favorable adjudication will grant permission to enter multiple times over a three-year period; however, certain circumstances could lead to lengthy processing delays and even refusals. Refusals would need to be appealed in order to subsequently secure entry. Finally, upon seeking admission, the border guard may deny an applicant entry and has wide discretion to do so.

Canada has an analogous system (eTA), whereby most European citizens must complete an application in advance of travelling and pay a fee.

As we get closer to the date of ETIAS implementation, we will provide more information about the new process and procedures.